The Magistracy comprises three magisterial districts. All magistrates exercise co-ordinate jurisdiction.  Magistrates hear and determine:

  • All complaints and information for summary conviction offences, i.e. to be tried in the Magistrate’s Court or indictable offences, i.e. to be tried by a Judge and Jury in the High Court.
  • Such civil matters as provided by statue.

The Chief Magistrate is the Accounting Head of the magistracy, whereas the Senior Magistrate is the Administrative Head.

There are five magistrates attached to the magistracy.

  • Chief Magistrate
  • Senior Magistrate - Kingstown Court No 1
  • Magistrate District 1 - Kingstown Court No 2
  • Magistrate - District 2 Court
  • Magistrate - District 3 Court

There are three districts:

  • District I
  • District II
  • District III

District I has two (2) Courts
Court No. 1 and Court No. 2

District II has four (4) Courts

  • Georgetown
  • Colonaire
  • Biabou
  • Mesopotamia

District III has five (5) Courts

  • Calliaqua
  • Layou
  • Barrouallie
  • The Grenadines

The Grenadines has two (2) Courts

  • Bequia
  • Union Island

There are no separate divisions within the District Court System.

Various Matters are heard – Traffic, Criminal, Civil, Application for Liquor Licences.


Credit Union League Building,
Pauls Avenue,
Office Hours (M-F)
8:00 a.m. - 4:15 p.m.
Court Hours (M-F)
9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
1 (784) 457-1091